Waterfalls, Independence Day, Farming

Sunday on our day off we visited the Boti waterfalls in the Eastern Region. It was nice to get outside after being in classes all day for the past couple of weeks. Aside from running in the morning a few times a week, I haven’t been getting that much exercise. However, our trip to Boti Falls allowed us to take in some fresh air.

Boti Falls is about an hour drive from our village. Once we arrived, we went straight to the waterfalls. Unfortunately, we can’t swim in fresh water, because of schistosomiasis.

After the waterfalls, we hiked for an hour to umbrella rock, which sits atop a large hill that provides a great view of the rainforest landscape. The hike wasn’t long, but it was very hot and humid so I was pretty exhausted by the time we made it to the top.

We then hiked a little further to a small village with a three-trunked palm tree that was the centerpiece of the village. It seemed to be a tourist attraction though, because there was a man charging 50 pesewas to climb it and have your picture taken. By now we were all starving so we ate lunch and the Peace Corps staff surprised us with pizza. It was first time I’ve eaten cheese in a month, so it was a nice break from Ghanaian food. I’ve heard the Volta Region has many waterfalls, so this definitely won’t be the last time I see a waterfall in Ghana.

This was my dinner the other night before it was cooked.

Note to self…don’t temp Mom to make something crazy for you, because she will. Turns out snail doesn’t taste that bad (kind of like rubber) and is relatively healthy.

March 6th was Independence Day in Ghana. Although Ghanaians don’t celebrate with BBQs and fireworks, all of the children have the day off from school. Each school in the town met in a large field for a marching competition.

Many people in my homestay family’s village are farmers. Some farm for a living and others farm as a hobby. Today my brother showed me my family’s farm. They grow palm nuts, pineapples, avocados, mangos, cocoa yams, and plantains. The farm didn’t seem to have much organization, just fruit trees scattered around thick weeds. Our job for the day was to cut the weeds with a machete or cutlass as the Ghanaians call it.

Also the Mangos are HUGE here.

 

In a week I have my Ewe Language Proficiency Interview (LPI), which is a 20 minute conversation with my language teacher to determine if I have enough language skills to become a Peace Corps Volunteer. After this we will meet our counterparts who we will work with for the next two years and travel to our sites to visit for a few days. I know I will be living in the Volta Region, but I’m excited to finally find out which community I will be living in.

About Ryan

I'm serving in Ghana as a Peace Corps volunteer for 27 months. View all posts by Ryan

3 responses to “Waterfalls, Independence Day, Farming

Leave a Reply

