In Ghana

Sorry I have not been able to post anything regularly. Today is the first time I have touched the internet since arriving in Ghana 11 days ago! The last week and a half have been a whirlwind. Here are some highlights so far.

Last week we went on an Amazing Race type scavenger hunt into Accra. We traveled into the city on trotros (Ghana’s form of public transportation) to find a few predetermined tourist attractions. A trotro is essentially van with four rows of seats with four seats in each row. It waits at the trotro station until all 16+ seats are filled.

My Ghanaian name is Kwaku Agyeman. Kwaku is the name for all males born on a Wednesday and Agyeman is the name of the grandfather of my homestay family. So far my homestay family has been great. I have an 18 year old brother, 17 year old sister, and 11 year old brother. We live in a house with electricity, but no running water, so I bathe in our courtyard with bucket and water.

The other day, I found out that I will learn to speak Ewe. So that means I will be working in the Volta Region in Ghana, because that is the only region that speaks Ewe. The community we are being trained in speaks Twi, so it will be challenge learning one language during the day and coming home to my family to speak another language.

So far we’ve been training non-stop. We have class from 8am to 5pm Monday through Saturday. Sunday is our day off, but that day could be busy as well. For example, this morning we all met the chief of our village, then I went to church with my dad. Church services are really long here. This morning it lasted three hours and it felt longer because I couldn’t understand most of what was being said.

About Ryan

I'm serving in Ghana as a Peace Corps volunteer for 27 months. View all posts by Ryan

One response to “In Ghana

Leave a Reply

