Deliveries

One of the best parts about joining the Peace Corps is all of the stuff you get to buy that makes it easier to “survive” in Ghana. I’ve decided to do most of my shopping on the Internet, because most online retailers (Amazon) have no sales tax and offer free shipping. With the amount of packages I’ve been getting in the mail, it’s been feeling like Christmas everyday. Here are some of the packages I’ve received in the last couple days alone!

Some of the “essentials” that I’ve recently received are Chacos, running shoes (New Balance Minimus!), hiking pants (the ones that zip off into shorts), and a headlamp. As you can surmise from my list, so far I’ve gone for practicality over style. When it’s 115° F outside I don’t think I will care what I look like!

I’m allowed bring 2 checked bags with me to Ghana that don’t exceed a combined 80 lbs. I plan on weighing in way under that limit, because it’s much easier to travel with lighter luggage. When I stop procrastinating and actually start packing I hope to post my full packing list.

On another note, I’ve embarked on what I’ve dubbed my Last Meal Tour. The first stop today was at Phil’s BBQ for lunch. I’m hoping to hit up In-N-Out, Jorge’s, Rico’s, and more along the way. I want to cover all of the classics I grew up on.

About Ryan

I'm serving in Ghana as a Peace Corps volunteer for 27 months. View all posts by Ryan

One response to “Deliveries

  • Sheryl

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G
    .. Anyways, wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

